All About Dad

The greatness of a man is not in how much wealth he acquires, but in his integrity and his ability to affect those around him positively. – Bob Marley

Today is Father’s Day and I am dedicating this post to my loving father. I have great amount of love for my Papa. I consider myself his mini female version. An indescribable bond was formed the second our eyes met and I become his baby girl. Our bond fostered incredible growth and lifelong lessons from both ends.

image

1978. Summer vacation in Ilocos Norte.

image

1984. A month after my little sister passed away.

When I was 10, my baby sister passed away. She was only 2 years old and was the light of our lives. My parents were equally devastated by her loss. Since then, Papa became overprotective of me and my brother but I totally understood that the pain and fear of losing a child drove his overprotective nature. As time passed by we somehow gathered ourselves and started moving forward in life. After a year, my parents were blessed with another baby boy.

Growing up, Papa taught me strong moral values, personal responsibility, honesty and trust, compassion and to respect all life. Papa taught me how to play and enjoy sports, the value of education and how to make good decisions in life. He taught me to have fun and to laugh. He taught me the meaning of work, and the meaning of love. Papa did all these by being a nurturing father, a dedicated worker, a firm disciplinarian and a very loving parent.

One thing that I love about Papa, is his laugh. People loves being around him. He makes other people laugh with his stories and jokes, and the way he would laugh about anything and everything! From his many stories, I learned that life should be enjoyed. Life is short. Do what makes you happy. Laugh a lot and live A LOT. I learned how to appreciate moments and treasure all the experiences that comes my way. Because of Papa, I realized the value of enjoying the little things in life – chirping of birds in the morning, a clean bed to sleep on, a home cooked meal, and most importantly, a good laugh.

image

1995. Of course, Papa was first dance during my 18th birthday.

Papa was there to share with me in times of joy and in times of hardship. He generously gave us personal time, his hard-fought efforts, and his true self so that we may grow up to face this challenging world with courage, hope, and faith. Papa was not perfect and he did have his faults, his struggles, and his weaknesses. He taught me, however, how to face these problems and challenges with a positive attitude and a strong will. These examples and the great memories I have shared with my father are everlasting and have positively influenced my life like no one else could have. #BDJAllAboutDad

image

2015. Meet my wacky but loving family.

Leave a Reply

